Laddar Evenemang

« Alla Evenemang

  • Detta evenemang har redan ägt rum.

Global Strike: Young activists have finalized a 24 hour livestream in place of the global school strike on April 24th

april 24

Gratis

On the 24th of April, Fridays For Future holds a 24 hour livestream at this link. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXhR5EvR2W8&feature=youtu.be.  FFF encourages spreading this link and announcement everywhere. All are invited.

Here is a short taste of what is coming: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eT32UFzA7E8

More information is available at https://fridaysforfuture.org/fff24. This lists which countries will be on in UTC time. Note this is not necessarily the local time!

The livestream will feature countries from all around the world, starting East in Australia and the Pacific Islands, and ending West in the Americas. This will be a day of global unity, where Fridays For Future groups in as many different countries as possible will get to share their experiences, how the climate crisis has impacted their communities and what they want to see change.

The livestream starts at 0:00 Friday to 24:00 Friday UTC. See below for corresponding local start times.

The 24th of April was supposed to be a global School Strike for Climate, a movement started by Greta Thunberg in August 2018. It was intended to be a day of global unity. During past global events over 7.5 million people have taken to the streets to protest for climate action. Unfortunately, COVID-19 has put the world on hold, and we must adapt. We strongly believe in uniting behind science and understanding the emergency, therefore we made the decision to cancel our protests. Instead, we have had to be more creative.

”2020 is a crucial year for climate action and we can’t afford to forget about it during this pandemic. We always follow the science, which currently says it’s unsafe to gather in large groups due to COVID19. This project will be a useful way of keeping people involved and the discussion relevant without endangering anyone,” said Kallan Benson, a 16-year-old school striker and one of the organisers from the USA.

Dylan Hamilton, a 15-year-old school striker and organiser from Scotland, said, “In this time of uncertainty, we can’t forget one crisis in the midst of another. Every crisis must be treated as a crisis, and our situation before the coronavirus was already an emergency.”

Several countries have confirmed their participation: Argentina, Austria, Costa Rica, Denmark, England & Wales, Ireland, Israel, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Serbia, Sweden, USA. FFF groups globally are spreading and announcing the digital event.

Here are specific local start times. Check carefully when the livestream starts in your local time.

Local Start Time City or Country Local Start Date Local End Time
2:00 Stockholm, Cairo, Paris Friday, 4/24 Saturday, 4/25
1:00 London Friday 4/24 Saturday, 4/25
0:00 UTC, Guinea Bissau Friday 4/24 Saturday, 4/25
21:00 Rio de Janeiro Thursday, 4/23 Friday, 4/24
20:00 New York, Chile Thursday, 4/23 Friday, 4/24
19:00 Mexico City Thursday, 4/23 Friday, 4/24
17:00 Los Angeles Thursday, 4/23 Friday, 4/24
14:00 Hawaii Thursday, 4/23 Friday, 4/24
12:00 New Zealand Friday, 4/24 Saturday, 4/25
10:00 Australia Friday, 4/24 Saturday, 4/25
6:00 Bangladesh Friday, 4/24 Saturday, 4/25
5:30 India Friday, 4/24 Saturday, 4/25
3:00 Moscow, Syria, Tel Aviv Friday, 4/24 Saturday, 4/25
FFF is also pleased to announce more trainings and talks. Here are offerings from FridaysforFuture including trainings, office hours for help, and downloadable materials. Just press the links.
I. Join FFF online trainings, either on how to use ActionNetwork, FFF’s digital tool, or  on how to build the local climate movement in your area. First sign the petition below which essentially puts your information into FFFs part in ActionNetwork, then sign up for any of these trainings:

April 28, Tuesday, Training, Action Basics on Climate. Creating and circulating a Petition using ActionNetwork. Sign up at this link. Fitting for Europe, Africa, Australia, and Asia

April 29, Wednesday, Training. Action Basics on Climate. Posting an Event, Targeting an Email. Sign up at this link. Fitting for Europe, Africa, Australia, and Asia.

May 2, Saturday, Talk. Peter Kalmus, activist and scientist speaks on  PANDEMIC / CLIMATE: A REHEARSAL FOR GLOBAL CATASTROPHE. Times fitting for America, Europe, Africa. Sign up at this link.

Note the times you find above vary with where held. These times are not necessarily your correct local time. When aware of the time FFF announces as its start, make sure it is your local time.One way is use Google search, and ask what is the time shown in your local time. For example, what is 2000 Central European time in my city of ’x’.

II. Join FFF online with technical or organizing questions. FFF is available on Wednesdays, always between 1630 and 1830 CET, or 2100 and 2200 CET. NOTE CET means Central European Time, not necessarily your time. Look at any Wednesday  for how and when to connect. Select the right time and use this Zoom link.

III. Use  several FFF tools or documents.

-Please if interested in working with FFF and ActionNetwork, sign the GDPR agreement.

-Please download the document on the basics of organizing around climate change here

-Please download the introduction on how to use ActionNetwork here.

-Please download the Action Basics on Climate (ABC) on creating and using a petition here.

-Please download the Action Basics on Climate (ABC) on recruiting volunteers here.

-Please read about mobilizing v. organizing. Also a great work by Marshall Ganz, Organizing people, power, change

IV. Use FFF’s online petitions ”inspiring” authorities to come forward to declare a climate emergency. Sign this petition  for the US, or for Sweden, or for Turkey, or for the rest of the world. Download and gather signatures on  a hardcopy of the FFF petition. Go out and gather signatures for this petition,  for the US or for Sweden, or for Turkey, or for the rest of the world. Then input through the online petition.

VI. Other. If you have not, signup to become a trainer or speaker or signature gatherer.  We need folks everywhere to train others using ActionNetwork, to understand the grassroots work we do, to understand how to use our petition, or to give a talk, personal or scientific, on climate change. Take the first step and  sign the GENERAL DATA PROTECTION REGULATION (GDPR) agreement of understanding. Then fill in this general volunteer form or in this trainer form where you think you might fit best in.

Note these online trainings and office hours are constantly being updated.

Thank you for all you can do! Do join the FFF livestream!

FFF International

Detaljer

Datum:
april 24
Pris:
Gratis
Evenemang Kategorier:
,
Evenemang Taggar:
,
Webbplats:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MXhR5EvR2W8&feature=youtu.be

Arrangör

FridaysForFuture
E-post:
Sweden@fridaysforfuture.org
Webbplats:
https://www.fridaysforfuture.org/